"Comfort is a purr in your lap and a heartbeat at your feet."
Thinking of calling us?
902-893-2341 M-W: 8am-8pm, T-F: 8am-6pm Sat: 8am-1pm

Canine (Dog) Resources

Behaviour

Fear Free Happy Homes: fearfreehappyhomes.com
Gentle Leader www.gentleleadercanada.com
Dr. Sophia Yin – The Art and Science of Animal Behaviour drsophiayin.com
Karen Overall https://puredogtalk.com/dr-karen-overall-temperament-vs-geneticspure-dog-talk/
Positive Dog Husbandry positivedoghusbandry.com/
Protocol For Relaxation https://www.boulderhumane.org/sites/default/files/ProtocolforRelaxation.pdf
St John Ambulance Dog Therapy https://www.sja.ca/English/Community-Services/Pages/Therapy%20Dog%20Services/default.aspx
Therapy Animal Registration: https://petpartners.org/volunteer/volunteer-with-pet-partners/
How to train to treat ears – go to resources – videos of: http://www.Domesticatedmanners.com (search ear treatment)
Fear Free Happy Homes: fearfreehappyhomes.com
Training to like nail trims and grooming: positivedoghusbandry.com/
Training to have ears treated – You Tube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_VzNv7TC9U

Disease People and Pets share (Zoonosis)

Companion Animal Parasite Council: capcvet.org
Worms and Germs – Dr Scott Weese: wormsandgermsblog.com/

Nutrition

Complete And Balanced http://completeandbalanced.com/
Every Pet Everytime http://www.everypeteverytime.com/docs/en-us/Pet_Nutrition_Ref_Manual.pdf
Royal Canin Canada www.royalcanin.ca
Hill’s Pet Nutrition www.hillspet.ca
Purina Veterinary Diets www.purinaveterinarydiets.com
Pet Food Nutrition www.petfoodnutrition.com
Pet Food Nutrition petnutritionalliance.org
Vet Nutrition http://vetnutrition.tufts.edu/petfoodology/
Calorie Calculator for dogs and cats: petnutritionalliance.org
Information on making healthy homemade diets http://completeandbalanced.com/
Petfoodology by Veterinary Nutritionists at Tufts University http://vetnutrition.tufts.edu/petfoodology/
The Savvy Dog Owner’s Guide: Nutrition on the Internet: https://wsava.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/The-Savvy-Dog-Owner-s-Guide-to-Nutrition-on-the-Internet.pdf
The Savvy Cat Owner’s Guide: Nutrition on the Internet: https://wsava.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/The-Savvy-Cat-Owner-s-Guide-to-Nutrition-on-the-Internet.pdf
Dr Jackie Parr Board Certified Veterinary Nutritionist. www.kibblequeen.com

Parasite Management

Bayer Parasite Solutions www.bayerparasitesolutions.ca
Companion Animal Parasite Council www.capcvet.org/
Disease Contagious to Humans:  wormsandgermsblog.com/
Elanco https://www.elanco.com/
Zoetis https://www.zoetis.ca/

Various Subjects:

Blind Dogs Facebook Group – Support group for people with a blind dog https://www.facebook.com/groups/126150894067756
Life Style and Safety Assessment: https://www.aaha.org/pet_owner/lifestyle/default.aspx
Many Articles with a subject search at Veterinary Partner:veterinarypartner.vin.com
Covid 19 and your pets: https://www.canadianveterinarians.net/search.aspx?usterms=covid
FaceBook Group for info on Purebred Dogs “CKC Dog Breeders in the Maritimes” https://www.facebook.com/groups/697827043882862
Human-Animal Bond Website: Indoor Pet Initiative: https://indoorpet.osu.edu/home
Therapy Animal registration: https://petpartners.org/volunteer/volunteer-with-pet-partners/

ReadOur Blog

Welcome to the blog for Truro Veterinary Hospital. Here you will find a variety of posts concerning medical topics, personal staff experiences, and occasionally a great client story. We love Read more...